Pandora Hearts OST 1

I’ve been a Kajiura Yuki fan far longer then I’ve known her name.

A long time ago I used to leech my anime songs from Khang. From him I got both the .hack OST and Noir OST, and both became favorites of mine. Stylishly gothic, with sweeping string arrangements accompanied by techno beat, it was a sound i grew to love, although I didn’t realize that both OSTs were by the same person.

Later on, in college, I fell in love with the track Akatsuki no Kuruma from Gundam SEED (although I would for years call it ‘the song where Freedom reaches out for Justice while they head to space’). FictionJunction became a favorite, but I still had no idea who Kajiura was.

It wasn’t until I started listening to the Kara no Kyoukai OST that I found out about Kajiura Yuki. I wiki-ed her and was surprised to find many of my favorite OSTs/songs to be her work. I became a Kajiura-fag. Or rather I found a tag for my obsession.

With that back story out of the way, lets talk about the Pandora Hearts OST. Who better to score the show where a gothic killed rabbit rampages around with a scythe? From the start you know its gonna be kick ass music.

PHOST1

the cover

And it is.

Right from track 1 (Pandora Hearts) we are treated to WAKANA’s vocals accompanied by a cool strings-and-techno arrangement. I guess its typical Kajiura, but it works for me. Track 2, aptly titled Foretaste, is a slow, string laden piece that slowly builds up, culminating in a violin filled crescendo, giving us an idea of what the rest of the album will be like.

A few notable tracks: Another Dimension starts of slow and creepy, with the chime part that embodies befuddlement, before the strings kick in. Bloody Rabbit is a fast, chant filled track. Possess is the mind-fuck tune, with a 7 beat rhythm that gets repeated through the tune and a saxophone lead. Contractor and Will are the battle songs, and both share an awesome string arrangement that makes me want to whistle along every time I hear it.

Daydream is a slow song that features a solo chime. Parting Song is a sad, piano laden piece. The penultimate track, Turn, is the track that is featured in the preview segment of the show. The album closes with Melodie, which is the tune that plays when the pocket watch is opened. A worthy successor to Noir’s  Melodie (both tracks share the same name. Limited grasp of English I guess?).

Overall, another awesome OST from Kajiura. 5/5, 10/10, you get the idea.

Oh, and OST 1 means there’s gonna be OST 2. Yay in advance.

4 Responses to “Pandora Hearts OST 1”


  1. 1 yungkhang July 11, 2009 at 2:55 am

    I remember the group she is in, See-Saw


Leave a Reply

More bla bla blas

The lowdown

¿です?

ですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですですです

